Quick Hits: Injury Notes for the Hurricanes, Islanders and Sharks … NHL Award Finalists
The Carolina Hurricanes lost Petr Mrazek and Trevor van Riemsdyk.
Injury updates

Hurricanes PR: Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Trevor van Riemsdyk left yesterday’s game with an upper-body injury.

Hurricanes PR: Hurricanes goaltender Petr Mrazek left yesterday’s game with a lower-body injury.

Michael Smith: Hurricanes coach Rob Brind’Amour on van Riemsdyk: “definitely not coming back any time soon.”

Luke DeCock: Saku Maenalanen will be out for 10 to 14 days as he requires surgery on his hand.

van Riemsdyk will have an MRI today on his shoulder and is out indefinitely.

Mrazek is listed as day-to-day. Alex Nedeljkovic will likely be recalled.

The Hurricanes were already without forwards Andrei Svechnikov, Micheal Ferland and Jordan Martinook

Andrew Gross: New York Islanders forward Cal Clutterbuck needed help to get off the ice in the third period. Coach Barry Trotz didn’t have an update on his status after the game.

Curtis Pashelka of The Mercury News: Forwards Joe Pavelski (head) and Joonas Donskoi (undisclosed) were not able to return for Game 2 yesterday.

NHL Awards Finalists

Elliotte Friedman: Hart Trophy Finalists: Crosby (Penguins), Nikita Kucherov (Lightning) and Connor McDavid (Oilers).

NHL.com: Calder Trophy Finalists: Jordan Binnington (Blues), Dahlin (Sabres) and Elias Pettersson (Canucks).

Jack Adams Award Finalists: Craig Berube (Blues), Jon Cooper (Lightning) and Barry Trotz (Avalanche).

Messier NHL Leadership Award Finalists: Mark Giordano (Flames), Wayne Simmonds (Predators) and Justin William (Hurricanes).

King Clancy Trophy Finalists: Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Coyotes), Henrik Lundqvist (Rangers) and Jason Zucker (Wild).

Norris Trophy Finalists: Brent Burns (Sharks), Mark Giordano (Flames)< and Victor Hedman (Lightning).

Vezina Trophy Finalists: Ben Bishop (Stars), Robin Lehner (Islanders) and Andrei Vasilevskiy (Lightning).

Masteron Trophy Finalists: Nick Foligno (Blue Jackets), Robin Lehner (Islanders) and Joe Thorton (Sharks).

Lady Byng Finalists: Aleksander Barkov (Panthers), Sean Monahan (Flames) and Ryan O’Reilly (Avalanche).

Selke Trophy Finalists: Patrice Bergeron (Bruins), Ryan O’Reilly (Blues) and Mark Stone (Golden Knights/Senators)