Players give board authority to file disclaimer … Team Canada Spengler Cup...

Players give board authority to file disclaimer … Team Canada Spengler Cup roster

  •  Pierre LeBrun via twitter: The players voted “yes” to give the executive board the authority to file a disclaimer of interest. 706 players voted yes, with only 22 players voting no. This doesn’t mean that the players association will definitely file the disclaimer, but gives them the option to do so before January 2nd. LeBrun doesn’t think that they’ll file right away, if they do at all. They will focus on getting a deal done. Darren Dreger via twitter: Giving the board that authority is one thing, filing the disclaimer is another. The season is days away from being over.
  • Bruce Garrioch of the Ottawa Sun: Brad Boyes on HNIC radio:

    “This is something we’re doing for a reason,” said Boyes, who signed as an unrestricted free agent with the Isles. “This is not for show or anything like that. We’re at a point where guys want to exhaust all options and do everything we can to avoid this.

    “We’re going to see what we can do. Like (Fehr) said. We don’t want to do this, but it’s looking like we might have to (do it).”

    A source said that the players also voted if they would form a trade association if they did file for the disclaimer of interest. If they formed a trade association, Don Fehr would be one of their lawyers that would represent them.

  • Hockey Canada: Team Canada for the Spengler Cup.
    Player Hometown/Country Team/Organization
    Devan Dubnyk Calgary, Alta. Edmonton (NHL)
    Jonathan Bernier Laval, Que. Los Angeles (NHL)
    Cam Barker Winnipeg, Man.
    Jason Demers Dorval, Que. Karpat Oulu (FIN)
    Geoff Kinrade Nelson, B.C. SC Bern (SUI)
    Micki Dupont Calgary, Alta. Kloten (SUI)
    Maxim Noreau Montreal, Que. HC Ambri-Piotta (SUI)
    Carlo Colaiacovo Toronto, Ont. Detroit (NHL)
    Derrick Walser New Glasgow, N.S. Rapperswil-Jona (SUI)
    Travis Roche Grande Cache, Alta. SC Bern (SUI)
    Matt Duchene Hailburton, Ont. HC Ambri-Piotta (SUI)
    Pascal Pelletier Neufchatel, Que. SCL Tigers (SUI)
    Jacob Micflikier Winnipeg, Man. EHC Biel (SUI)
    Brett McLean Comox, B.C. HC Lugano (SUI)
    Kurtis McLean Kirkland Lake, Ont. SCL Tigers (SUI)
    Jason Spezza Toronto, Ont. Rapperswil-Jona (SUI)
    John Tavares Oakville, Ont. SC Bern (SUI)
    Josh Holden Calgary, Alta. EV Zug (SUI)
    Jason Williams London, Ont. HC Ambri-Piotta (SUI)
    Patrice Bergeron Sillery, Que. HC Lugano (SUI)
    Marc-Antoine Pouliot Quebec City, Que. EHC Biel (SUI)
    Sam Gagner Oakville, Ont. Klagenfurter AC (AUT)
    Tyler Seguin Brampton, Ont. EHC Biel (SUI)
    Byron Ritchie North Delta, B.C. SC Bern (SUI)
    Ryan Smyth Banff, Alta. Edmonton (NHL)