NHL News: Bruins, Senators, Penguins, Sharks, Lightning, Canucks and Capitals

NHL News: Bruins, Senators, Penguins, Sharks, Lightning, Canucks and Capitals

SHARE
NHL department of player safety looking at another Tom Wilson's hit.
On the Boston Bruins …

Amalie Benjamin: Forward David Krejci has a minor injury but is expected to play in Game 2 according to coach Bruce Cassidy.

On the Ottawa Senators …

Bruce Garrioch: Senators GM Pierre Dorion will meet with head coach Guy Boucher this week and wants to know how Boucher “can be better moving forward.”

On the Pittsburgh Penguins …

Jason Mackey: Brian Dumoulin left in the second period after taking a high hit from Tom Wilson and Alex Ovechkin. (see Capitals section below for more on the hit)

JJ Regan: Forward Evgeny Malkin missed yesterday’s game but coach Mike Sullivan said there is a chance that he’ll be back for Game 3.

Jason Mackey: Sullivan added that Malkin didn’t have any setbacks and that it’s just part of the process.

On the San Jose Sharks …

Kevin Kurz: Coach Pete DeBoer said that defenseman Paul Martin is healthy and that it was his decision to not play in him in the last half of the third period in Game 2.

On the Tampa Bay Lightning …

Bryan Burns: Coach Jon Cooper said that both Ondrej Palat and Braydon Point were given maintenance days and that “they’ll be fine” for their next game.

On the Vancouver Canucks …

Elliotte Friedman: Canucks GM Jim Benning said that they wanted to send their mascot Fin to the draft lottery drawing on Saturday but the NHL said no. says he understands the NHL’s position on this but “I have huge respect for the ask.”

On the Washington Capitals …

Isabelle Khurshudyan of the Washington Post: Forward Tom Wilson will have another play reviewed by the NHL’s Department of Player Safety. A source said yesterday that they are reviewing it.

There was no penalty called on the play. They will look at if the head was the principle point of contact and if the contact was avoidable. The head contact was there, but does Rule 48.1 iii applies.

“whether the opponent materially changed the position of his body or head immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit in a way that significantly contributed to the head contact.”